Earlier this year Mayor John Cooper announced the names of 48 members of the Nashville community to serve on the Mayor’s Sustainability Advisory Committee. Since the announcement, the Committee has been advising and supporting the City’s commitment pursuant to the Global Covenant of Mayors to develop a Climate Action and Adaptation Plan for the city of Nashville.

In celebration of the 50th anniversary of Earth Day, Socket reached out to the committee’s Co-Chairs, Linda Breggin and Eric Kopstain, and the Co-Chairs of the sub-committees to have them share what they see for the future of a sustainable Nashville. Hear their voices of sustainability:

Mayor’s Sustainability Advisory Committee Co-Chairs


Linda Breggin

Senior Attorney with the Environmental Law Institute and Lecturer in Law at Vanderbilt Law School


Eric Kopstain

Vice Chancellor for Administration, Vanderbilt University

Mayor’s Sustainability Advisory Committee Sub-committees’ Co-chairs


Anne Davis

Lawyer and community volunteer; former managing attorney for the TN office of Southern Environmental Law Center & former first lady of Nashville


Todd Lawrence

Executive Director, Urban Green Lab


Mekayle Houghton

Executive Director Cumberland River Compact


Jaclyn Mothupi

Regional Director of External Affairs, TN Dept of Environment and Conservation


John Sherman

Chair, Davidson County Regional Solid Waste Board; Co-owner, PFC Social Impact Advisors, LLC


Mary Vavra

Senior Landscape Architect/Planner at Barge Design Solutions


Tiffany Wilmot

President, Wilmot Inc – Sustainability Consulting